• Charles A. Teachey chapter of the Rho Kappa National Social Studies Honor Society


    We have chosen to name our chapter of Rho Kappa after retired Swansboro High School teacher, Charles A. Teachey.  Mr. Teachey served as a social studies teacher and coach at Swansboro for 35 years from 1972 until 2007.  Since "retirement", he has continued to be very active in Swansboro athletics and academics.  Mr. Teachey has been an active member of the North Carolina Army National Guard for over 20 years and is a beloved member of the Swansboro community.  With degrees from both Methodist University and Vanderbilt University, Mr. Teachey has made a lasting impact on the education and lives of generations of students and teachers. Thank you for your service and committment to education Mr. Teachey, we are honored to name our honor society after you. 

    RHO KAPPA Social Studies Honor Society is the only national organization for high school juniors and seniors that recognizes excellence in the field of Social Studies. RHO KAPPA provides national recognition and opportunities for exploration in the social studies. Swansboro High School, through the National Council of Social Studies, hopes to encourage an interest in, understanding of , and appreciation for the social studies through the creation of RHO KAPPA.  Additionally, only 20 other high schools in North Carolina are a part of this prestigious and elite organization.


    To apply for Rho Kappa, you must:

    -Have already completed 4 Social Studies courses at SBHS

    -Have a 'B' or higher in social studies courses

    -Have an unweighted GPA of 3.0 or higher

    -Must complete FIVE social studies courses at SBHS prior to graduation

    -Pay an induction fee of $20 (includes reigstration fee, chapter induction, and graduation cord)



    Pam Ladley: pam.ladley@onslow.k12.nc.us

    Erik Matticola: erik.matticola@onslow.k12.nc.us

    Ashley Pearson: ashley.pearson@onslow.k12.nc.us

    2024-25 Rho Kappa Officers


    President: Isabella Smith      

    Vice President: Sydney Davis 

    Secretary: Olivia Hancock    

    Publicist: Aiden Nolan